Head of St Anne's Campus | Gippsland Grammar


Head of St Anne's Campus

Classes For 2019

Today was a day full of excitement as our students discovered their teacher, classmates and classroom for 2019. New and existing students spent the majority of the day with their 2019 class, experiencing what learning is going to be like next year. A lot of thought and effort has gone into creating each class, with our teachers taking into account many factors when placing students. Each student will have brought home an envelope addressed to their parents, with details of their teacher for 2019. I am excited about our teaching teams, along with our Specialists and support staff.   

The link below is to an informative article about student transition into a new year level, and the major benefits of trusting a school to get this right.


Class placements: the case against allowing children to choose their class


Our teaching staff for 2019

Prep Mawson: Mrs Rebekah Tayler

Prep Bass: Miss Bree Alexander

Year 1 Bradman: Mrs Louise Sullivan

Year 1 McCubbin: Mrs Kristen Rich

Year 2 Chisholm: Mrs Ellen Condron

Year 2 Barton: Ms Alison Fraser

Year 3 Flynn: Miss Sarah Wheeler

Year 3 Tasman: Mrs Linda Vale

Year 4 Freeman: Mr Evan Lamb and Mrs Katie Howard

Year 4 Kingsford Smith: Ms Lisa Goode

Year 5 Hollows: Mrs Nicky Roberts

Year 5 Cuthbert: Mrs Elizabeth Dawson

Year 6 Goolagong: Miss Prue McNaughton

Year 6 Mackellar: Mrs Julie Jago

Library/ICT: Mrs Elizabeth Noble

Art: Mrs Tracey Grubb

Physical Education: Mrs Simone Langshaw and Mrs Kate O’Toole

Japanese: Mrs Jan Chalmer

Music: Mrs Katie Germaine

Pathways Coordinator: Mrs Linda Cooper-Lothian

Learning Support: Mrs Michelle Thompson, Ms Vanessa Walsh and Mrs Louise Anderson

Speech Pathologist: Mrs Michelle Sands

Deputy Head of St Anne’s: Mrs Sheryn Ray


House Captains for 2019

We announced the House and Vice House Captains for 2019 at our Fellowship this morning. Every student from Year 2 to Year 5 had the opportunity to vote for their House Captain on Wednesday morning. Our House and Vice Captains play a significant role in our school community. They provide leadership, enthusiasm and encouragement during our many House Competitions. These include Athletics, Swimming, Cross Country, Singing, Public Speaking and Handwriting, to name but a few.


I want to thank all students who applied and congratulate the following successful applicants. In Blundell Bogong, the Captain is Riley Alexander, and Vice Captain is Leah Roberts. In Cranswick Dargo, the Captain is Jack Crowe, and the Vice Captain is Lachlan Davine. In Tisdall Hotham, the Captain is Hayden Smolenaars, and the Vice Captain is Zoe Heoernlein. In Wellington Binks, the Captain is Will Murray, and the Vice Captain is Sarah Hale.


Thank you to all those who applied. Other leadership positions will be appointed early in the new year.


Prep Christmas Concert Monday, 10 December

A reminder that our Prep Christmas Concert is this Monday in the Lorna Sparrow Hall, commencing at 9.00am. Our Prep students, along with Mrs Tayler and Mrs Grubb, have been busy preparing and practising for this year’s Christmas Concert. It promises to be a great show.


Final Assembly

Our final assembly for the year will be held next Tuesday at 9.00am in the Lorna Sparrow Hall, when we will present our final Citizen of the Term awards for the year. along with the much anticipated Class of the Term. We will also take the opportunity to acknowledge recent sporting success amongst our students.


Year 6 Valedictory

We will farewell our Year 6 students on Thursday morning at a very special Valedictory Service. This is always a memorable occasion for all involved.


End of Term 4 and 2018 School Year

A reminder that School finishes next Thursday at the regular time of 3.15 pm. The School Office will close for the Christmas break on Wednesday 20 December and reopen on Monday, 7 January.

I hope everyone is enjoying the start to Summer and the festive season.


Jie Van Berkel